How to Get Stuff Done When You Feel Unmotivated

Angela M Ward
4 min readDec 20, 2018
Photo by Lina Kivaka on Pexels

I can’t stand excuses, even from myself.

Why?

Because everything is a detraction from the possibility of doing something. And that something is often within easy reach.

Am I going to finish my homework?

No, I can leave that till later.

Am I going to go for a hike today?

Nah…I’m too tired.

Am I going to follow through on the commitment I made to myself?

I’ll do it another day. I was just too busy.

Sometimes when I’ve promised myself that I’ll exercise or work on a writing project, I find I’d rather forget about it and do something else.

Why?

Because I also have other things to do. Other things that seem more pressing. More urgent.

And I suddenly feel overwhelmed.

Sometimes I don’t know where to start.

I think a lack of motivation can stem from feeling overwhelmed by all that you have to do.

You end up doing all these little things that seem urgent but really eat away at your time and energy.

However, the things we think are urgent may not be as important as we think.

--

--

Angela M Ward

Communications and digital marketing professional, interested in creativity, personal development and mindful living. Top Writer in Reading.